Congressman Steve King

Representing the 4th District of Iowa


Twitter icon
Facebook icon
Flickr icon
YouTube icon
RSS icon

King Statement on President Declaring Disaster Declaration for 19 Iowa Counties

Nov 2, 2016
Press Release

Washington, D.C. – Congressman Steve King released the following statement after President Obama approved Gov. Terry Branstad’s request to declare 19 Iowa counties impacted by severe flooding on September 21-23 of this year as a federal disaster area.

“I am thankful that President Obama has granted Gov. Branstad’s request and the Iowa congressional delegation’s appeal to issue a Presidential Disaster Declaration for 19 Iowa counties devastated by flooding earlier this year,” said King. “Providing federal funding under the Public Assistance Program, this declaration will put in place both long-term and short-term programs to help re-build our communities. It will also allow for hazard mitigation activities throughout the state to strengthen existing infrastructure and minimize damage from future storms or possible flooding. Although our state’s loss has been sobering, Iowans are smart, hardworking and resilient people who are diligently putting their lives back together.”

The counties included in the declaration are: Allamakee, Benton, Black Hawk, Bremer, Buchanan, Butler, Cerro Gordo, Chickasaw, Clayton, Delaware, Des Moines, Fayette, Floyd, Franklin, Howard, Linn, Mitchell, Winneshiek and Wright.

Contact Info
Media    Issues    News    Services    Info   

Iowa 04 District Map

I am very interested in hearing your views on issues of importance to you. Please use the drop down menu below to select the type of inquiry you'd like to make.